my cracked pot friends

I want to share and keep this message that I received today from a friend, to remind me that my “cracked pot friends” have an important role in my life, too.
An elderly Chinese woman had two 
large pots, each hung on the ends of a pole which she carried across her  neck.
One of the pots had a crack in
it while the other  pot was perfect and always delivered 
a full portion of water.  

At the end of the long walks from 
the stream to the  house, the cracked pot arrived only half 
full.  

For a full two years this went
on daily, with  the woman bringing home only one and a half 
pots of water..  

Of course, the perfect pot was 
proud of its  accomplishments.
But the poor cracked pot was ashamed 
of its own  imperfection, and miserable that it could only 
do half of what  it had been made to do. 

After two years of what it perceived 
to be  bitter failure, it spoke to the woman one day by the 
stream.  

‘I am ashamed of myself, because 
this crack in  my side causes water to leak out all the way 
back to your  house.’ 

The old woman smiled, ‘Did you 
notice that  there are flowers on your side of the path, 
but not on the  other pot’s side?’ 

‘That’s because I have always 
known about your  flaw, so I planted flower seeds on your 
side of the  
path, and every day while we walk 
back, you water  them.’ 
For two years I have been able 
to pick these  beautiful flowers to decorate the table. 

Without you being just the way 
you are, there  would not be this beauty to 
grace the house.’ 

Each of us has our own unique flaw. But it’s the  cracks and flaws we each have that make our lives together so  very interesting and rewarding. You’ve just got to take each person for what  they are and look for the good in them.
 
So, to all of my cracked pot friends, have a great day and remember to smell the flowers on your side of the path!
 
What about you? Do you also have cracked pot friends or just “perfect” friends? 

Leave a Reply

